Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust
show navigation
content

Work Experience

Team PHT

Are you interested in work experience with Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust?

Work experience is a fantastic way to gain insight into a particular career. It can also be a valuable way of gaining some confidence and experience of caring for people and working in a hospital environment. Whether it is a short or long-term placement, full or part time, work experience can help you choose the right career.

Some jobs are ‘clinical’, which means directly related to patients and their treatment and some are ‘non-clinical’ i.e. administration, finance etc. Work experience is useful for whichever type of career you are interested in, and it is still valuable to get non-clinical work experience even if you hope to end up in a clinical career.

Most careers in the NHS involve training and many clinical roles require higher education, such as a degree or diploma. Many NHS trusts and universities want to be certain that students really understand what an NHS career involves before offering them a job or a place on a course. Work experience is a great way of seeing what it’s like working in the health service and showing your commitment to your future NHS career.

We recommend that you explore the NHS Careers website before deciding which department you would like experience in - that way you can ensure you are gaining the most from your work experience with PHT.  


The work experience policy will provide you with the framework the Trust must adhere to when offering work experience, shadowing and placements. The document will also explain age restrictions regarding placements.

If you need any further information regarding the work experience policy please contact the Human Resource team on 02392 286577 or email HR.Inbox@porthosp.nhs.uk 


Work experience departmental contacts:

Medicine for Older People, Stroke and Rehabilitation

MOPRS.customercare@porthosp.nhs.uk

 

Renal and Transplantation

Anita Evans
anita.evans@porthosp.nhs.uk
02392 286000 extension 6635

Corporate

Tabitha Lawrence
tabitha.lawrence@porthosp.nhs.uk
02392 286577

Surgery and Cancer

S&CWorkExperience.Enquiries@porthosp.nhs.uk
 

Emergency Medicine and Acute Medicine

Matthew Mogridge - Emergency
matthew.mogridge@porthosp.nhs.uk

Alex Hayes - Acute Medical Unit

alex.hayes@porthosp.nhs.uk

Critical Care, Hospital Sterilisation, Anaesthetics and Theatres
Age restrictions apply, please see policy before contacting department

Liz Malo
liz.malo@porthosp.nhs.uk
02392 286000 extension 4050

Head and Neck

Michele Hewlett
michele.hewlett@porthosp.nhs.uk
02392 286000 extension 6368

Trauma, Orthopaedics and Rheumatology

Claire Hughes
claire.hughes@porthosp.nhs.uk
02392 286000 extension 4273

Medicine

Julie Jeal

Julie.Jeal@porthosp.nhs.uk

Women and Children Age restrictions apply, please see policy
before contacting department
Jayne Jempson
jayne.jempson@porthosp.nhs.uk
02392 286000 extension 3603

Clinical Support

Diagnostic Imaging
Grant Brodie: Radiographer
grant.brodie@porthosp.nhs.uk
or
Fran O’Halloran: Radiographer
francesca.ohalloran@porthosp.nhs.uk

Pathology
Theresa Farmiloe: Deputy Head of Education and Training of HCS-AHP
theresa.farmiloe@porthosp.nhs.uk

Pharmacy
Luke Groves: Associate Director Medicines Optimisation and Pharmacy
luke.groves@porthosp.nhs.uk

All other areas
Denise Hollies: Business Administration Manager
denise.hollies@porthosp.nhs.uk

 

 

For further information about the above clinical service centres click here.

Related content

Contact

Queen Alexandra Hospital
Cosham, Portsmouth
PO6 3LY
Tel: 023 9228 6000

© Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust

This website is maintained by the PHT Web Team. If you have any questions about the website please get in touch